Home History and Coat of arms History

History

Testimony of the past and confidence in the future


 Hemmingford was named in 1792 after Hemingford in Huntingdonshire, England. Its first settlers about 1800 were American loyalists, followed by British colonists, primarily from England, Scotland and Ireland. Among them was Colonel John Scriver, whose stone  house built about 1815 at 450 Frontière Street is a historic site in the Village of Hemmingford. The Township of Hemmingford has officially existed since March 18,1799. (Information taken from the book: "Hemmingford 200 Years of Hope and Challenge, 1799-1999). French colonists later followed and occupied primarily the regions' rich agricultural sectors ('black muck').
Interesting fact: most of the township roads are named after early settlers.

In 1877 the Village of Hemmingford, near the center of Hemmingford Township, was incorporated.Through the architecture of certain heritage buildings, modernized over the years, in Hemmingford the past meets the present. Be it by an old hotel converted into a hardware store, then later transformed into a pub, a former convent turned cultural center, or an old railway bed used now used as a bike path, Hemmingford is renewing itself.
"Through generations, this same sense of obligation has required dialogue in Hemmingford to balance change with tradition" (excerpt from the book: "Images of Hemmingford")

It is important to educate the new generations about the many treasures that were created and discovered by our brave settlers. Such heritage and natural richness encourages and supports the vitality of today's community.

History is the past of a vibrant future!

© 2010 Hemmingford.ca Powered by Joomlamontreal.com